A report on the First Annual Meeting and National Conference of Animal Physiologists Association (APA) December 22-23, 2018



Mational conference on "Propelling transition towards sustainable food production through rekindling physiological strategies for addressing contemporary challenges" and First Annual Meeting of Animal Physiologists Association (APACON2018) was organized by Division of Physiology & Climatology, ICAR-Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar, during 22-23 December, 2018.

The very aim of the conference was to provide a platform to researchers/ academicians of different parts of India to discus/share their ideas regarding challenges for food and nutritional security, a major concern for a country like India. The areas were covered in 5 technical sessions including- system biology approaches for optimizing health & production; Sustaining optimal reproductive efficiency through upstream reproductive techniques; "Omics" approach in understanding animal physiology; Physiological capacity building for optimal health and production through nutritional intervention in livestock, fishery and poultry; Climate driven and life style challenges; adaptation and mitigation strategies for optimizing health and production.





The Inaugural session of the conference was held at NLVS auditorium at 11.00AM on December, 2018. **Dr. Vikash Chandra**, Organizing Secretary delivered the welcome

APA, briefed about the various activities of the association. **Dr. G. Taru Sharma**, President APA, gave brief note on the genesis of the division and Animal Physiologists Association. The conference was inaugurated by the chief guest **Dr. V.P. Kamboj** former Director, CDRI, Lucknow. **Dr. Goutam Ghosh**, senior vice president Panacea Biotech Ltd. was the guest of honor. On this occasion Conference compendium as well as a book, Cattle Health authored by Dr. K.P. Agrawal were formally released. The presidential address was delivered by **Dr. R.K. Singh**, Director cum Vice Chancellor, ICAR-IVRI Deemed University. **Dr. Vikrant S. Chouhan**, Organizing Secretary delivered vote of thanks.

APA felt proud privilege to felicitate two stalwarts: **Dr. S.M.K. Naqvi**, former Director CSWRI with **Lifetime Achievement Award**, and **Dr. J. Goswami**, Prof. AAU Guwahati as **APA Fellow**. APA also felicitated **Dr. Sheelendra Kumar** by **Award of Honor**.



Dr. S.M.K. Naqvi receiving APA Lifetime Achievement Award



Dr. J. Goswami receiving APA Fellow Award



Dr. Sheelendra Kumar receiving Award of Honor

The scientific deliberations of the conference began with keynote address by Dr. V.P.

Kamboj, former director, CDRI Lucknow. He emphasized that the current challenge is up scaling our food grain production per hectare to that of developed countries. Likewise in livestock sector, we need to improve breeds to ensure the wellbeing of farmers by ensuring better milk yield per animal. The opportunity is to introduce modern physiological means of genetic improvement and artificial insemination with



semen of good quality pedigree bulls to improve milk and meat productivity.

Session-I "Omics" approaches in understanding livestock physiology was chaired by **Dr. Nirmal Sangwan**. In this session three invited lectures and three oral presentations were presented. The session was concluded with the remark that transcriptome analysis may be a tool for stress management and pregnancy associated proteins can be useful marker for pregnancy diagnosis. Session-2 Sustaining optimal reproductive efficiency through upstream reproductive techniques was chaired by Dr. J. Goswami and Dr. Mridula **Sharma.** Session concluded that flow cytometric sorting of semen may be considered as gold standard for sex sorting of semen and systematic categorization of human infertile patients for proper line of treatment and proper counseling is required for maximum success. micro-RNAs are the important endogenous regulators of ovarian functions. Session-3 Young Scientist Award was chaired by Dr. Rambabu Naik. In this Dr. Nasir Akbar Mir was awarded with APA Young Scientist Award. Session-4 Mid-Career Award was chaired by Dr. D.C. Shukla and Dr. K.P. Agrawal. In this session Dr. Sayed M. Ahamad was awarded with APA Mid-Career Award. Session-5 System biology approaches for optimizing health and production was chaired by Dr. D.N. Kamra and **Dr. A.K. Rawat.** A total of 5 papers were presented in this session. During the session sheep breeding practices, ameliorative strategies for climate driven stress, role of microtubules in implantation were well received by the delegates. Session 6 &7 conducted jointly and were chaired by Dr. V.P. Varshney and Dr. Sohan Vir Singh. It was emphasized that a strategy of shed management, nutritional management as well as biotechnological interventions is required for combating stress it may either be biotic stress or abiotic stress.





The executive committee (EC) meeting of APA was held on 21.12.2018 at about 6.30 PM in the chamber of head P&C division and the General Body (GB) meeting was held in the evening of 22nd December, 2018 at NLVS auditorium.

To encourage young researchers poster sessions were held on 22nd & 23rd December, 2018 covering all five technical sessions. For each session a best poster was selected and among all one overall best poster was also selected. Poster awardees were awarded with certificates during the valedictory cum concluding session.





Awardees of APACON 2018

S.No.	Name of Award	Awardees
1.	APA Lifetime Achievement Award	Dr. S.M. K. Naqvi
2.	APA Fellow	Dr. J. Goswami
3.	APA Mid-career Award	Dr. Syed M. Ahmad
4.	APA Young Scientist Award	Dr. Nasir Akbar Mir
5.	APA Best Ph.D. thesis Awards	Dr. Sunil Kumar
6.	APA Best M.V.Sc. Thesis Awards	Dr. Vijaylakshmi Kennedy
7.	APA Best Published Paper Awards	Dr. Brijesh Yadav
APA Best Poster Awards		
8.	Session I	Mr. Vinay Shukla
9.	Session II	Dr. B.S. Bharath Kumar
10.	Session V	Dr. Anju Kala
11.	Session VI	Dr. Sandeep Uniyal
12.	Session VII	Dr. Shashank C.G.
13.	Over all best poster award	Mr. Vinay Shukla



Dr. Syed M. Ahmad receiving APA Mid-career Award



On behalf of **Dr. Nasir Akbar Mir**, Dr. Kapil Dev receiving
APA Young Scientist Award



On behalf of **Dr. Sunil Kumar**, Dr. Sohan Vir Singh receiving APA Best PhD Thesis Award



Dr. Vijaylakshmi Kennedy receiving APA Best MVSc Thesis



Dr. Vidya Sagar Reddy receiving APA Best Research paper Award



Dr. Vinay Shukla receiving Overall Best Poster Award

The conference concluded with the valedictory function held on 23rd December, 2018 at about 5.00PM. Dr. R.K. Singh, Director IVRI presided over the function. During his address he congratulated APA and organizers for successful organization of the conference. He said that Physiology is a basic subject and physiologists may solve the important issues of animal health like climate change, infertility, metabolic diseases etc. by using advanced biotechnological tools. APA should widen his horizons and amalgamate other related disciplines and should conduct activities in all four regions of the country. APA may convene mid-term activities in different places and should search for regional issues and scientists may work in collaboration. Dr. D.C. Shukla and Dr. **V.P. Varshney**, former heads of Division of Physiology & Climatology IVRI, were the guest of honor. Dr. G. Taru Sharma, president APA thanked everyone for their active participation and valuable contribution towards successful organization APACON2018.









With Best Complements from APA